The inaugural Rockland Road Runners Scholarship Program brought us some great candidates. With a total of $4,000 being awarded, the committee had some tough decisions to make. We met some great students, all of whom showed the qualities and characteristics of exemplary leaders. These students run fast, study hard, and lead by example. The top scholarships were awarded to one male student and one female student from the Class of 2014 at Rockland high schools that sponsor track/cross country programs. To be eligible, students must fit the following criteria:

  • Participate for their school’s track and/or cross country teams;
  • Volunteer for at least one RRR race from May 2013 to April 2014;
  • Excel academically;
  • Plan to attend college;
  • Demonstrate strong character and leadership qualities.

The top male and top female were awarded scholarships of $1,000 each.

You can learn more about our scholarship program here: RRR Scholarship Program

2014 RRR Scholarship Award Winners

Male: Adam Klein, Clarkstown High School South
Female: Cecile Garfunkel, Nyack High School

Adam Klein

Adam Klein

Cecile Garfunkel

Cecile Garfunkel

Awards were presented on the evening of Monday, June 9th at Nyack High School and the morning of June 10th at Clarkstown High School South by RRR President, Jonathan Farrell, and Scholarship Chair and past president, Jamie Kempton. We would like to personally congratulate our winners and every applicant. We wish these young runners the best of luck in the collegiate careers!

We also recognized the following students with $500 scholarship awards:

Liam Purdy, North Rockland High School
Sarah Murphy, Clarkstown High School North
Elissa Muenzer, Clarkstown High School South
Skyler Miller, Clarkstown High School North

Applications for the class of 2015 are now being accepted!

Add Comment