The 2015 Rockland Road Runners Scholarship Program brought us some great candidates. With a total of $5,000 being awarded, the committee had some tough decisions to make.

We met some great students, all of whom showed the qualities and characteristics of exemplary leaders. These students run fast, study hard, and lead by example. The top scholarships were awarded to one male student and one female student from the Class of 2015 at Rockland high schools that sponsor track/cross country programs. To be eligible, students must fit the following criteria:

  • Participate for their school’s track and/or cross country teams;
  • Volunteer for at least one RRR race from May 2013 to April 2014;
  • Excel academically;
  • Plan to attend college;
  • Demonstrate strong character and leadership qualities.

The top male and top female were awarded scholarships of $1,500 each.

You can learn more about our scholarship program here: RRR Scholarship Program

2015 RRR Scholarship Award Winners

[column width=”1/2″ title=”” title_type=”single” animation=”none” implicit=”true”]


Male: Daniel Diaz, Clarkstown High School North

[/column][column width=”1/2″ last=”true” title=”” title_type=”single” animation=”none” implicit=”true”]


Female: Kaitlyn Lavan, Pearl River High School


Awards were presented on the evening of Wednesday June 3rd at Pearl River High School by RRR President, Jonathan Farrell, and Scholarship Co-Chairs Alison Luscher and Mike Angarola. The winners were congratulated by the 40+ RRR members at the track for our weekly track workout! We would like to personally congratulate our winners and every applicant. We wish these young runners the best of luck in the collegiate careers!

We also recognized the following students with $500 scholarship awards:

Liam Mallon, North Rockland High School
Naomi Philip, Clarkstown High School South
Patrick Metcalfe, Pearl River High School
David Sherman, Clarkstown High School North

Applications for the class of 2016 are now being accepted!

Add Comment